My Weekend Be Like This Tag

I think there’s no better weekend to have shared, than the one that just passed, so I’m happy to be doing this now.

I can’t even believe how long it has taken me to respond to Gail’s tag, I’m trying not to feel ashamed but I really do, nevertheless, I think there’s no better weekend to have shared, than the one that just passed, so I’m happy to be doing this now. Thanks a lot, Gail, for thinking ever so dearly of me, enough to want to know how my weekend went. I’ll share with you the weekend of the 27th of July and maybe the ones leading to it.

I’ve always talked about the Festival of Life program I was preparing for. It’s organised by the Redeemed Christian Church of God in different countries of the world. This July, it came to Scotland and was hosted by the great city of Glasgow.

https---cdn.evbuc.com-images-46095928-247024569926-1-original

As I have mentioned a few times, I love writing scripts and acting, so I’m a member of my Church’s drama team: Fountain Theatre. In the weeks leading to this program, we worked on a short drama skit for the event. Considering the theme, Divine Victory, the story of Esther, Haman and the Jews in the Bible was chosen and a script was written based on the biblical account (Esther 3 – 7). Despite facing some challenges along the way with the script, the length of the play and availability of actors, we commenced rehearsals, and soon, trusting the Lord to grant us our own victory, things began to take shape.

One of the funniest challenges we faced was at the point when some members of the cast tried on their costumes. It wasn’t long before the substandard materials used to make them began to rip in different places. But God placed such lovely people around us to helped in getting them fixed and ready for the play.

Many nights leading to the weekend, Boo of life would put the kids to bed while I was out late for rehearsals. Precious man would stay up waiting for me even though he had to be up early the next morning for work. I felt so much love and support from him that my only response was to do the best I could to see that everything went well, to God’s glory.

Amazingly, we had a great number of teenagers cast for the play. It’s such an amazing thing to watch young people so in love with God that they are willing to spend the most part of their holidays serving in His house. I was very encouraged and challenged too. Bless them.

On the Thursday before the program, we travelled to Glasgow to first present the play at the Workers’ Rally, where comments would be made to either improve the play or commend it, or both. For me, that was the best night so far, seeing everything come together so beautifully and hearing the testimonies of members of the congregation of how the message came clear from the play.

whatsapp-image-2018-07-28-at-20-12-41.jpeg
Esther, King Xerxes, Haman and the guards at the second banquet, where Esther petitioned the king

 

On the night of the 27th, I believe that many were blessed by the ministration and the message of God’s ability to grant victory in every situation, no matter how dire it seems, rang through the aisles and into the hearts of many.

WhatsApp Image 2018-07-30 at 15.10.52-2
The Cast
WhatsApp Image 2018-07-30 at 15.10.52
Cast and Crew . . . I’m somewhere in there with my head sticking out
WhatsApp Image 2018-07-30 at 15.10.55
Mordecai in his victorious regalia
WhatsApp Image 2018-07-30 at 15.10.56
The guards always ready to hang any Haman around 😂

 

I was so blessed to be a part of this, even though it meant that I missed my daughter’s 3rd birthday.

We got back on Saturday morning, all worn out but super victorious.

A lot of people thought we would not be able to pull it off, giving the challenges we faced and how much time we had left, which wasn’t very much. But the God who grants Divine Victory gave us this testimony:

“No matter how many people set you up to fail and how many times they do: if you seek the glory of God, He will glorify Himself with your victory!”


RULES
1. Tell me about your day in pictures (preferably own snaps). Use the pictures snapped/taken during 3 last days.
2. It should reflect – who you are, what do you like or do on a daily basis.
3. Name for the post – any or “My day in pictures”.
4. Humour is welcome; no rush with the post (take as much time as you need) and it’s not obligatory (Please don’t forget to create a “pingback!” I would hate to miss on your posts.)
5. Nominate 3 to 5 or as many as you like!

I nominate anyone who wants to share their weekend with me. I’ll really love to know what occupies your time. Love you guys.

13 thoughts on “My Weekend Be Like This Tag

  1. What a fabulous weekend you had. To see all the hard work on everyone’s part finally come together! What a blessing! I thoroughly enjoyed the photos 🙂

    Like

  2. PTL! Congrats on your My Weekend Be Like This Tag, Tosin! I don’t know I missed liking and commenting when I know you and I were talking about this and your soundtrack. I am so glad you shared this… especially the pictures! Loved seeing all of those smiling faces!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahahaha. I remember leaving a comment on one of your posts with the link after it was done. I’m sure you’ve been busy so it’s alright. It was an awesome weekend and I thank God for times like those.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.