Of Rainbows and Identity

It was Bumble-Bee’s birthday on Tuesday.

My amazing drummer boy turned 3.

In the run-up to his birthday, every time he was asked what he wanted, he would say “Rainbow cake”. At a point, my friends began to wonder what his fascination was for rainbows.

“I want ‘rainbow’ drumsticks”

“I want ‘rainbow’ shoe”

“I want ‘rainbow’ Paw Patrol”

Everything had to be ‘rainbow’.

My son’s love for rainbows first began when he watched the ‘rainbow song’ by the Mothergoose Club. He would sing the song over and over again and request for it every single time. For Bumble-Bee and Drama Queen, their love for rainbows is undeniable. So when we read the story of Noah’s Ark to find out where the rainbow came from, it became one of their favourite Bible stories. If you sit with them while they watch The VeggieTales: Noah’s Ark, you’ll be startled when they get to the part where the rainbow appears in the sky. LOUD-‘I-JUST-WON-THE-LOTTERY’-SCREAMS.

It’s a given: my kids love the rainbow.

IMG_20190727_123458.jpg
One of Drama Queen’s many rainbow-inspired artworksΒ 

To fulfil Bumble-Bee’s wishes, we ordered a rainbow cake from my amazing baker of a big sister, O’Caykx. His darling godmother, Aunty Chiny, showed up with a big helium inflated rainbow balloon. ‘His father and mother’ (our dear family friends) came with a gift wrapped in a sheet covered in rainbows. Everyone got the message. He was excited. His sister was exhilarated. Β So all dressed up in his rainbow dinosaur sweater, I organised a photoshoot session with all the props I could find and put my photography skills to the test. We had a wonderful time on Tuesday, all to the glory of our Heavenly Father who preserved the life of this child against all odds (a story for another day).

IMG_8519
My photoshoot set-up 😍
IMG_8599
We couldn’t avoid a smudge πŸ˜‚
IMG_8610
This cake was YUM!!!

But . . .

You know how there can be a little tingly feeling inside you about something you’re involved in, or something you know, or something you want to do? Not the ‘Holy Spirit’ kind of feeling, just something at the back of your mind that just doesn’t sit right. That was how I felt anytime I looked at all the rainbow that surrounded me on Tuesday. I could see the innocence in the eyes of the kids as they enjoyed every bit of it, but my over-enlightened mind knew something else that tried to taint the beautiful experience we were having.

RAINBOW – The adopted identity of the LGBT phenomenon.

When God first gave us the rainbow, it was a symbol of covenant and commitment, to remind us that His promises are true. When I see a rainbow in the sky, my heart lights up because I remember that God is there, watching over His word to perform it.

IMG_20181129_151603.jpg
I remember this one like it was yesterday πŸ˜€

Somehow, that symbol has been stolen by perversion and any association with it draws the mind to something completely different. I know how Boo of life cringes when he sees a shirt that’s rainbow-themed. I wonder, are we supposed to stop associating ourselves with a God-given symbol because it has been hijacked by ungodliness?

This question has bugged me for so long, and if I had given in to the temptation of disassociating myself with anything rainbow, I wonder how I would have explained to the kids that they could not have a rainbow-themed celebration.

Would their love for God’s symbol of His promise diminish when they become more aware of how the world has perverted it? Should our love for the rainbow be tainted? Should we give up the rainbow?

I don’t think so!

I remember telling some of my friends a while ago that I was starting a ‘Rainbow Campaign’ with these hashtags:

#BringBackOurRainbow #RestoreTheRainbow #SaveTheRainbow.

It sounded funny then, but my thoughts in this post are exactly the reason why my mind conceived that idea.

The rainbow may have become the symbol of identity for something that God certainly does not approve of, but the rainbow is a gift from God, to colour our lives and remind us of His promises. So I won’t run away from celebrating those beautiful colours and what they truly signify. I will reach out in love with truth to a world that has been lied to and show them that the only standard of love is GOD, and His son, Jesus Christ.

So if you see me wearing a rainbow shirt, don’t think twice, I know my identity – I’m God’s Child!

IMG_8456
Happy Birthday, Bumble-Bee!

33 thoughts on “Of Rainbows and Identity

  1. When I think of the LGBT+ using the rainbow as their identity, it makes me think of those in the crowd screaming to Pilate say that Jesus’s blood would be upon them and their children.

    They think it’s a covering and a security. β€œPeace, safety”

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Praise the Lord for this post! We wholeheartedly agree.
    The “rainbow”, my mom always told me that: “when you see a rainbow God shows that He still loves us”. Genesis 9:12-17 is my favorite in the Bible:
    And God said: β€œThis is the sign of the covenant which I make between Me and you, and every living creature that is with you, for perpetual generations: I set My rainbow in the cloud, and it shall be for the sign of the covenant between Me and the earth. It shall be, when I bring a cloud over the earth, that the rainbow shall be seen in the cloud; and I will remember My covenant which is between Me and you and every living creature of all flesh; the waters shall never again become a flood to destroy all flesh. The rainbow shall be in the cloud, and I will look on it to remember the everlasting covenant between God and every living creature of all flesh that is on the earth.” And God said to Noah, β€œThis is the sign of the covenant which I have established between Me and all flesh that is on the earth.”
    BUT, like you mention, the feeling one has nowadays about an association with the rainbow is just wrong. And even though the rainbow is being used in perversion we still love the persons. We need to show them love which isn’t easy sometimes. Thank you for your post and happy belated birthday to your son, blessings, Elfriede

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Satan wants to pervert all that is good and is of God. He has perverted the gospel of Jesus Christ. He has perverted sex. He has perverted marriage and family and unity and love. Everything pure and holy and righteous he has found a way to pervert. And, yes, it can be tempting, at times, to withdraw from things which we know are good just because someone else has perverted them, but we should not fear Satan or his perversions, but we should walk in the fear of the Lord and honor God in all that we do.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Amen to your response! I like your statement :”we should walk in the fear of the Lord and honor God in all that we do”
      Proverbs 1:7 The fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge, But fools despise wisdom and instruction. (NKJV) comes to mind. Blessings, Elfriede

      Liked by 3 people

  4. I love those pics of the rainbow! Bumble Bee and Drama Queen are precious! It sounds like that is what God uses to draw their hearts nearest to Him! I can relate to thatβ€”mine is hearts and dragonflies. The screams of delight they show when spotting one in a song or show, touches the heart of God, I’m sure!!! Nothing wrong with that! May we all squeal with delight every time we see one! πŸ™ŒπŸΌπŸ’œ 🌈

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh wow! I have thought on this too! But it shouldn’t surprise us that the enemy has hijacked the rainbow for something perverse! I have seen some beautiful rainbows here in AZ and in CO…..they took my breath away…..only GOD could do that. And we all know from scripture that it is GOD’S covenant in the sky. HIS word is truth and will stand forever. So I guess I am saying, I am a fan of all things rainbow!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great post. Every notice most of the time the acronym loving group, the only have 6 colors? The number of man by the way. It should have 7 according to ROYGBIV.

    Anyway, well written! I have thought the same thing about saving the rainbow!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. You crack me up…Boo of life! I love it! You know how I feel about Rainbows. I truly feel God and his angels use them to send us a sign. Not only of the promise of never flooding the earth, but signs of color and light in times of darkness.
    Question: they all have code names, what’s yours? Lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. He’s the Boo of my life πŸ˜‚

      I thought Alethea was already a code name? πŸ˜†

      (Confession: I’ve been itching for you to read this post πŸ˜‚) Rainbows all the way 🌈

      Like

Leave a comment